2019 Forbeck Scholars Announced

The Forbeck Foundation annually awards young oncologists with the Forbeck Scholar Award to recognize them for their achievements, research, and dedication to the field. Scholar applicants go through a rigorous application process by the Scientific Advisory Board. The award has become a highly prized recognition in the field.

Please consider sponsoring a scholar for their years of participation in these important meetings.

3D Chromosomal Architecture and Nuclear Topology

  • Danfeng Cai, PhD - National Institutes of Health

  • Peter Ly, PhD - Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research

  • Kathleen Xie, PhD - Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Leukemia stem cells, heterogeneity, and metabolism – new directions for AML therapy

  • Peter van Galen - Massachusetts General Hospital and Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

  • Shruti Bhatt - Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

  • Zuzana Tothova - Broad Institute, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

  • Danielle Shin - Stanford University

DIPG consensus meeting

  • Jessica Foster - Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

  • Cassie Kline - University of California, San Francisco

  • Jay Sarthy - Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

  • Nneka Mbah - University of Michigan

  • Laura Banaszynski, PhD - UT Southwestern Medical Center

Telomerase-Mediated Telomere Targeting in Cancer

  • Marta Potoczny - National Cancer Institute (NCI), National Institutes of Health (NIH)

  • Enzo Tedone - UT Southwestern Medical Center

  • Tianpeng Zhang - University of Pennsylvania

  • Flores Barthel - The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine

Cancer and Aging

  • Mitchell Machiela, ScD, MPH - National Cancer Institute

  • Takahiro Ito, PhD - Broad Institute

  • Issam Ben-Sahra - Northwestern University

  • Elma Zaganjor, PhD - Harvard Medical School