Spring 2020 Forbeck Scholars Announced

The Forbeck Foundation annually awards young oncologists with the Forbeck Scholar Award to recognize them for their achievements, research, and dedication to the field.  Scholar applicants go through a rigorous application process by the Scientific Advisory Board.  The award has become a highly prized recognition in the field.

Please consider sponsoring a scholar for their years of participation in these important meetings.

Leveraging Synthetic Lethality to Treat Cancer

  • Brooke Emerling, PhD - Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
  • Mark Zimmerman - Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Andrew Venteicher, MD, PhD - University of Minnesota

Graft vs. Host Disease

  • Armin Rashidi, MD, PhD - University of Minnesota, Division of Hematology, Oncology, and Transplantation
  • Tae Kon Kim - Vanderbilt University Medical Center
  • Melinda Biernacki, MD - Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Uncovering New Mechanisms of LKB1-Mediated Tumor Suppression

  • Vajira Weerasekara, PhD - Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center; Harvard Medical School

Cellular Reprogramming and Metastatic Disease

  • Jatin Roper, MD - Duke University
  • Sharanya Sivanand, PhD - MIT
  • Elena Piskounova, PhD - Weill Cornell Medicine

Don't miss these stories: