The William Guy Forbeck Research Foundation was launched with the help of dedicated people who cared for the Forbeck family and shared George and Jennifer’s vision.  WGFRF has been blessed to have some of the original founding Directors and their children still active as well as new volunteers.  Many individuals have volunteered their expertise and efforts to significantly benefit the foundation.  

The Board is always seeking new energy and ideas.  Please contact a board member or to discuss opportunities to join the Forbeck Foundation.

The Board of Directors works with the Scientific Advisory Board to ensure WGFRF’s mission is being pursued effectively.  The Board remains active throughout the year by meeting in-person during the Annual Forum as well as hosting conference calls throughout the year.

Charles H. Jesser, CPA

Jamie Forbeck Collins

Matthew Gerdes

Brendan Cashman
Hon. William Herbkersman
Aaron H. Jesser
William O. Kasten
Harris McMurry
Ronald Miller
Luis E. Taveras, PhD
Maureen J. Wheeler
John T. Kemshead, PhD, FRCPath, Scientific Advisory Board Chairman

Emeritus Members
Joseph W. Black, MD
David R. Barry Jr.
Hon. Sol Blatt Jr.
James A. Buchanan
Charles H. Drawdy
Edward R. Frick
Jennifer K. Forbeck
Thomas A. Geldermann
Hon. Ernest F. Hollings
Terence J. Irmen
T.L. Sam Irmen
Ann Huber Kasten
Montague T. Laffitte
Joseph Laver, MD
Hayden Leason
Michael Leason
William Terlato
Nancy K. Wellard

Scientific Advisory Board

From the outset, the William Guy Forbeck Research Foundation recognized the importance of having professional advisors to guide research programs and activities. WGFRF therefore established early on a Scientific Advisory Board to advise the Board of Directors on the scientific activities of the Foundation, the first and enduring commitment being the selection of topics and attendees for the Forbeck Forum.

The WGFRF Scientific Advisory Board is a small rotating committee of individuals representing very senior and well respected physicians and scientists from the arenas of cancer biology and clinical care, drug development, and from broader areas of science that may help drive the mission of the Foundation.  The Scientific Advisory Board meets twice a year, at the time of the Annual Forum and mid-year.

Garret M. Brodeur, M.D.
Webster K. Cavenee, Ph.D.
Bruce A. Chabner, M.D.
Alan D’Andrea, M.D.
Isaiah Fidler, DVM, Ph.D.
David E. Fisher, M.D., Ph.D.
Arnold Freeman, M.D.
Ed Harlow, Ph.D.
Michael B. Kastan, M.D., Ph.D.
Philip A. Pizzo, M.D.
Jean Wang, Ph.D.

John Kemshead, M.D.

Vice Chairman:
Sara Courtneidge, Ph.D. 
Oregon Institute of Health & Sciences

James Amatruda, M.D., Ph.D. 
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Nabeel Bardeesy, Ph.D. 
Massachusetts General Hospital

Kristina Cole, M.D., Ph.D. 
Children’s Hospital of Pennsylvania

Michael C. Jensen, M.D.
Seattle Children’s Hospital

Jan Karlseder, Ph.D. 
The Salk Institute

Anthony Letai, M.D., Ph.D. 
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Katherine K. Matthay, M.D.
University of California San Francisco

John D. Minna, M.D.
UT Southwestern Medical Center


Jamie Collins, Executive Director
Lauren Roadman, Administrator